Carp fishing methods advice please

This forum is for discussing carp.
Wandering Mark

Carp fishing methods advice please

Post by Wandering Mark »

I am a novice when I comes to Carp fishing. I caught my first two on floating biscuit in rather coloured water. The local pool I have started to fish is an old reservoir. The water is crystal clear and one half is very weedy, the other half is about 10 or 11 feet deep. I have tried the floating biscuit but think the fish can see everything as they eat all the freebies and Leave the one with the hook in it. I have had several fish suck in the bait blow it out just as quick. I hooked one only for it to disappear into weed and dislodge the hook.

I have read the topic about float fishing for carp but wondered if 10 foot was too deep to float fish the bottom or if ledgering would be a better option. Any advice would be welcom.

Cheers WM

Davyr

Re: Carp fishing methods advice please

Post by Davyr »

I'd give popped-up lobworm a try, using just a single swan shot 6-9" from the hook to anchor the bait. The worm "dances" enticingly just off the bottom and there's no line above it to arouse the carp's suspicions.

I use the narrowest bore needle that comes with the Fox Predator Deadbait Oil & Air Kit to inject air into the worm's head (being very careful with the needle, of course).

http://www.poingdestres.co.uk/2044/Fox- ... urce=googl

Santiago
Wild Carp

Post by Santiago »