Materials for Float Tubes??

Made some other form of traditional fishing tackle.
Arnold9801
Stickleback

Materials for Float Tubes??

Post by Arnold9801 »

Hi Everyone..

Since I am new to Float making, I am finding already that I am even now starting to accumulate a number of floats. Storage and transportation is a thought which is`nt difficult to address in terms of what to use, but the artistic element within me causes me to want to have a go at making a float tube with some real finnese.

I am not saying I am capable of producing exhibits to the standard of some of the fine craftsmen on this forum, but they sure as hell inspire and drive me/others (no doubt) to want to have a go.

Due to this is anyone able to outline where they get the large sections of wide diameter bamboo from?

Also the metal end caps? Are these individually turned from a section of cylinder or bought as already turned blanks or are derived from something else they were originally made for??

I would love to know, as I love the ornamental aspect of the float tubes and would excel in letting my imagination fuel my own personal designs for these.

I am new to this forum and the hobby of float making, but have to say that the work exhibited by members on this forum really does drive me. Its such a shame work takes up so much of our time that could be spent on relaxing hobbies such as this!

Regards

Arnold9801
The Danger, is not aiming to High and failing, but aiming to Low and achieving.

MGs
Pike

Re: Materials for Float Tubes??

Post by MGs »

The large diameter cane can be sourced from B&Q. However, I have had some problems with this splitting over time as it dries.

As for the caps. For the bottom, I have been cutting the cane below a node and using the natural barrier as the bottom surface. The tops I have been shaping from cork sanding block. All you need is a saw, file and sandpaper.