Educate me.............

This forum is for discussing Long Trotting.
The Sweetcorn Kid
Wild Carp

Educate me.............

Post by The Sweetcorn Kid »

I guess that the clue is in the name, I'm very new to trotting so am still very raw with it. So, what differentiates between short and long trotting, or am I missing the point completely?
SK
The Compleat Tangler

“Imagination is the real magic that exists in this world. Look inwards to see outwards. And capture it in writing.”

Nigel 'Fennel' Hudson

Click here for my Youtube Channel...
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeoyLH ... 5H4u8sTDgA

DontKnowMuch
Roach

Re: Educate me.............

Post by DontKnowMuch »

One methods for those with good eyesight and ones for those, well , you can guess :hahaha:

Seriously long trotting is an excellent method to use, I find, on the smaller, clearer types of river where you can target them at range away from where you are standing/sitting. Very good for searching out stretches of river for the bigger fish. Control is the key to finding out how they want a bait presenting on the day.

Snape
Bailiff

Post by Snape »

I don't think there is a difference per se.
Long trotting is just letting the float run out further. I think (?). I am no expert at all.
I do recall reading Jack Hargreaves talking about long trotting and how he once knew a man who had a flag on his float which allowed him to see it from a long way off. He supposedly successfully trotted up to 2 fields downstream!
“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers,” Herbert Hoover.
`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸ ><((((º>

BobH

Post by BobH »

And don't be affraid of a large float and lots of lead shot ?

If you have the Float weighted corectly, you can see the float for a long distance and the bites will be the same as using too light a float.

The knack is the get the float going under control and pulling of the reel without aid of your finger or thumb.