Traditional style floats: best places to find them.

The place you will find all those traditional terminal tackle items.
MaggotDrowner
Sea Trout

Traditional style floats: best places to find them.

Post by MaggotDrowner »

I've just recently got into vintage tackle. I have just bought my first split cane rod and an old reel, but now I need some traditional floats to go with them. I don't like the thought of putting modern plastic floats on such old tackle. The kind of float that I am looking for need not have any real age (although genuine age is nice) but be traditional in style.

The thing is, being a young student, I don't have a vast amount of money to throw at such wonderful things as old fashioned floats, so I was wondering where I could lay my hands on some fairly cheaply to start my collection.

I understand traditional floats are hand made and take time, but I was thinking perhaps about second hand sources such as car boots, eBay and so forth.

Where have you acquired most of your floats from and where are the bargains hiding?
"I'd rather be fishing!"

MD

Loop Erimder
Wild Carp

Re: Traditional style floats: best places to find them.

Post by Loop Erimder »

You can pick up some good bargains on ebay, they can be fairly cheap but also quite dear too, you just need to keep an eye out and be there at the right time. The newly made vintage style are amazing and expensive, I would love to buy some but I couldnt bring myself to use them in fear of losing them to trees and bushes. Why not have a go at making them there are plenty of helpful hints and tips on here
Chance is always powerful. Let your hook be always cast; in the pool where you least expect it, there will be a fish

Scott Thompson

Post by Scott Thompson »

Start with something simple, have a walk around your waters and you'll come across some quills, all they really need is cutting to length an eye whipping on the bottom and the top painting red, yellow or black.