Just joined the Traditional Fisherman's Forum, why not pop into this forum and introduce yourself.
Silver King
Stickleback

Post by Silver King »

I wish to say Hi from America - I am a transplanted Brit who is interested in all forms of fishing and associated tackle - I have been fishing for 73 years starting on the canal near Mexborough close to my Grandparents house using a garden cane with a line tied to the end with a float split shot a hook and maggots provided by my friends father. I then moved overseas with my parents to Singapore where I had a dual purpose Japanese Fly/Spinning rod which I used to fish from a bridge near my home - my most memorable catch being a sea snake which are all really poisonous which I tried to kill by throwing it under passing cars - I thought it was dead but when I got home I discovered it was very much alive! After returning to England and finishing University my next serious encounter with fishing was a fly fishing class at Aviemore in 1966 after which I bought my first real fishing rods and reels :Ok: being an Abu Suecha with a closed face reel and an Abu Laplandia fiber glass fly rod with an Abu Delta reel both of which I still own. After this depending on opportunity I have fished in many countries using different fishing techniques in both salt and freshwater - during that time I have acquired a large number of rods and reels of all types - a large number of my rods being cane made by a number of different makers - some well known - others not. I am now limited as to the fishing that I can do due to back problems but am going to Belize next week to chase Bonefish and Permit with a Fly Rod - sorry not cane! I will be coming to England in the middle of April to chase trout - I look foreward to reading your posts Eric

Wanderer
Arctic Char

Re: New Member

Post by Wanderer »

Hello and welcome to the forum Eric.
Some cracking fishing to be had these days on the rivers Don and Dearne in the Mexborough area .