Help identifying Malloch sidecaster multiplier

The Other Reels forum.
The VFC
Brown Trout

Help identifying Malloch sidecaster multiplier

Post by The VFC »

Hi all - I'm going to admit up front that I'm no expert on the sidecaster of P. D Malloch, generally snoozing when they go under the hammer, but I have acquired a couple recently. One has got me stumped - its a little multiplier, 2 1/4" diameter to the spool, that I simply can't track down. I've been through every catalogue I posess, looked in all my reference books and searched the web to no avail - the only multiplying sidecasters that I can find are the Erskine type. Can anyone shed any light on the reel or point me in the direction of someone who might? I don't suppose anyone's sitting on a pile of Malloch catalogues are they?

Thanks
Jim
Malloch multi 1.jpg
Malloch multi 2.jpg
Malloch multi 3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Churchill
Bleak

Re: Help identifying Malloch sidecaster multiplier

Post by Churchill »

The VFC wrote:I don't suppose anyone's sitting on a pile of Malloch catalogues are they?

Thanks
Jim
Jim, sat on my desk are Mallochs 1914 and 1915 catalogues.

I can't scan at the moment . . but briefly - no multiplier listed.
Sizes 2 1/2" to 4 3/4" (5 sizes) in "gun metal" or aluminium.
The 4 larger sizes with optional "Reversible drum", and "Reversible drum and Optional check"

I'll ask around about multipliers

What ratio is that reel? I'd love to strip it down, or see the workings

Brian

Edit/Afterthought - is it Mallochs Sun & Moon mechanism in there? And if not, I wonder why?

The VFC
Brown Trout

Post by The VFC »

Hi Brian - many thanks for your thoughts: I'd never come across one like this (the only multipliers by Malloch's I was aware of were the Erskine's). I'll photograph the innards and post in a bit.

Jim

The VFC
Brown Trout

Post by The VFC »