Cherries

This is the place to discuss the fishing baits.
Sneezewort
Bleak

Cherries

Post by Sneezewort »

I recall from my youth in the 70s, my first Saturday job, where in quiet times I would often be chatting “fishing” to one of the old stagers there, as he smoked a woodbine out the back. He would fish whole cherries in the late summer for Chub on the River Wey. I can imagine the wild cherry overhanging the water like elderberries, would be a natural bait - also would make a big splash to interest old leatherchops too.

I wonder if anyone else has tried them? I couldn’t see searching the thread ..🍒🍒🍒🍒
Earthing the current
“ I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order" - John Burroughs

RBTraditional
Catfish

Re: Cherries

Post by RBTraditional »

I have no knowledge of the use of cherries as bait, but an old friend of mine swore by blackberries being a cracking chub bait when fished near overhanging brambles at the right time of year and I witnessed some of his catches years back.....
" Angling is not an escape from life, but often a deeper immersion into it..."

https://thepiscatorialraconteurs.co.uk/

NorfolkTinca
Dace

Post by NorfolkTinca »

I've never fished any fruit as a bait, yet when you consider the number of fish that are caught on fruit flavoured boilies, you have to wonder why. I found black cherry flavour went down particularly well with tench, so why shouldn't an actual cherry? Same size, same flavour, same colour, a fraction of the price too.
My biggest fish is not necessarily my best

Duckett
Tench

Post by Duckett »

My mum was a great one for rummaging in the family lunch boxes for alternative baits on slow days. I don’t recall cherries but I certainly recall her catching Roach, Rudd, Crucian and Bream on tiny pieces of banana, apple peel, apple, grape, tomato and cucumber.

Phil
From "... the wilds of the Wirral, whose wayward people both God and good men have quite given up on ...".

Dipper
Rudd