Baits for BIG rudd

This forum is for discussing rudd.
Bob Brookes
Zander

Baits for BIG rudd

Post by Bob Brookes »

Gentlemen I am asking for advice.

I have seldom caught a rudd before and they have always been small. I have the opportunity to fish a very large pit which is stuffed with rudd, some of record rocking proportions. What bait would you recommend and what baiting procedure would be best to target the bigger ones. Incidentally there are no roach in the water and so they are pure rudd! It will be a winter campaign so I guess the floaters will not work. Bread/bread mash, worm or maggots I really have very little idea.

I really am a novice regarding this species so it is all quite exciting. I shall have a boat to fish from if necessary. Over to you chaps :secret:
"You do not cease to fish because you get old, you get old because you cease to fish"

Harry H
Tench

Re: Baits for BIG rudd

Post by Harry H »

I am by no means an expert but a few weeks ago I tried to catch some of the decent Perch that are in a local pit but caught nothing but some lovely Rudd on frozen Prawns :shocked:
There are three things that improve with age: wine, friendship and water sense, and there's no short cut.
Anthony Shepherdson

JimmyBobkin
Crucian Carp

Post by JimmyBobkin »

This might sound like blasphemy but breadflake freelined from a pole used to work well for me. You could always use a cane pole??? :Hide:

Olly
Wild Carp

Post by Olly »

Cockles have caught fish to just under 4 from a water I fish.

Snape
Bailiff

Post by Snape »

Neill Stephen caught this 3lb 15oz 8dr fish recently on sweetcorn. (also on a cane rod, centrepin and Andrew Field float)
Amazing fish. Hope to see you holding a similar one Bob!

http://www.gofishing.co.uk/Angling-Time ... l-Stephen/
“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers,” Herbert Hoover.
`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸ ><((((º>

Wallys-Cast
Pike

Post by Wallys-Cast »