I’d like a Hardy Altex... but!

The Hardy Reels forum.
Gsmn1
Gudgeon

I’d like a Hardy Altex... but!

Post by Gsmn1 »

I’d like a Hardy Altex, but i am a novice to this brand and marque. In my initial research I am coming to the conclusion that I may have a few things to look out for. This thread is designed to garner enough practical info to arm me with enough confidence to buy/ invest in a ‘keeper’.

Which model?
What should I look out for?
How much should I expect to pay?

Consider the intended quarry as the chub. Perhaps happening on the occasional barbel. Touch ledgering (or similar). Attached to a Paul Cook Fred Crouch Barbel Perfection.

Any insights, views, recommendations or advice is gratefully received.

Thanks in advance.
Here’s hoping...

Nigel Rainton
Rainbow Trout

Re: I’d like a Hardy Altex... but!

Post by Nigel Rainton »

Altex No. 2 is the one to go for. Bail arm springs are hard to get and expensive. I bought a 'new' one several years ago, I keep it for special occasions.

Paul F
Sea Trout

Post by Paul F »

Agreed the No2 is a good all round coarse fishing reel.

Beware the dealers are clubbing together on a certain website, so the prices are currently inflated by £50+

Put a post on the wanted section on here, keep an eye on general local on line auctions

Good choice btw.

AshbyCut
Honorary President

Post by AshbyCut »

May I suggest you look out for a No. 2 Mk. V ... full bail arm, left hand wind, and a (very useful) anti reverse mechanism fitted, operated by a sliding button on top of the base just under the flyer.

Mine may be 'cosmetically challenged,' but that doesn't stop it working perfectly !

Mine is also a little ... well ... 'odd' ... or should that be 'special' ... as the flyer has been 'ventilated', perhaps by a previous owner to save weight .. or even as a 'factory custom' to a customers order !

PM on it's way.