Rod detective required

The Other Traditional Rods forum.
Gsmn1
Gudgeon

Rod detective required

Post by Gsmn1 »

Does anyone know anything about this make of Rod?
Elasticane. Medway deluxe. Hollow built.

Santiago
Wild Carp

Re: Rod detective required

Post by Santiago »

It's a Marco medway rod.
"....he felt the gentle touch on the line and he was happy"

Hemingway

MGs
Pike

Post by MGs »

Modern Arms Co Ltd. More information here viewforum.php?f=310
Old car owners never die....they just rust away

Richard Jackson
Brown Trout

Post by Richard Jackson »

Marco are my favourite make of rod , I am by no means an expert compared to some members but what is it you would like to know
I spend most of my life fishing the Rest i just waste

Gsmn1
Gudgeon

Post by Gsmn1 »

Thanks for the offer of info. I guess the first question is about the history of the company. We’re they south east based and is the reference to the Medway, the River Medway (which is my local river!). The second area is about quality. How are they rated amongst the great and the good. Should I hang onto it? I have an Avocet that always seems to take priority over this rod for general float fishing. I guess by learning a bit more I can enjoy it a bit more (and give the old girl a bit more airtime on the bank). Thanks

Ljm183
Rainbow Trout

Post by Ljm183 »

Modern Arms Co (Marco)

Marco Works, Pembroke Road, Widmore, Bromley, Kent. Telephone: Ravensbourne 3483. Cables: "Modarcom, London". Works: Redditch, Worcs.

1923 Established at 133 Fenchurch Street.

1928 Became a limited liability company.

1947 Listed Exhibitor - British Industries Fair. Manufacturers of Fishing Rods, Reels and all Tackle. Sporting Guns, Air Guns, Air Pistols and Ammunition, Educational Drawing Equipment, Fishing Tackle. (Olympia, 1st Floor, Stand No. F.1806)

Kev D
Chub

Post by Kev D »