New Member introduction

Just joined the Traditional Fisherman's Forum, why not pop into this forum and introduce yourself.
Rotrax
Rudd

New Member introduction

Post by Rotrax »

Hi, just been accepted as a member, thanks.

I am a 73 year old ex semi pro motorcycle racer who has been angling almost all his life. A Cockney from South of the river my grandmother bought me a toy fishing rod at 4 years old after finding me dangling a string off the end of a laundry stick on the staircase. I caught my first fish on Clapham Common, a small perch. On a bent pin, bamboo garden cane, medicine bottle cork and thread for line. The toy rod was long broken.....

I graduated to proper tackle when I took a paper round and had a few bob to spend. Paynes of Balham was my tackle shop, near my school. I still have - and regularly use - the Sealey Floatcaster de-luxe and Alcocks centre pin I got for my 12th birthday, supplied by said Paynes of Balham. Taken some good fish and good bags using that gear, including over 200 prime Roach in one session on the Arney River at Enniskillen.

I have fished all over the world, often as part of my motorbike racing gigs. I have caught Carp in France, Czech, Germany, Spain and the USA. The hardest fighting without doubt were long and skinny ten to fifteen pounders in what was a typical Salmon river near Manitwoc in Wisconsin. They fought like tigers. Unfortunately when the locals catch them they drag them up the bank and leave them to die. My wife and I were censured for returning the ones we caught! We also caught Channel Catfish, Bullhead Catfish and Smallmouth Bass.

I have and use the wicker basket supplied by the RNIB for seven shillings and sixpence, ordered at the 1957 boys and girls exibition at Olymia. Another birthday provided an Intrepid Elite, still in great working order and used frequently. I also have an Alcocks 'Lightcaster' and a Chapman 500. The Intrepid and my Mitchell 300 go well with those.