Whats The Difference between No1 ,No2 & No3 rods

The Hardy Rods forum.
Chavender
Eel

Whats The Difference between No1 ,No2 & No3 rods

Post by Chavender »

Ok i'll admit i'm hoping to buy a Hardy rod (I have no experience with hardy rods) this week (got too look at it first) the rod has three versions that I guess means three levels of quality / finish ,No1 ,a No2 & No3 all made at the same period ,but how do you know if your rod is a No1 or No3 ?? (to be honest i'm hoping theres a little mark or number stamped I should be looking for)

and which is the better version ??

I have a couple of reservations about the rod ,for one it has its name hand writen on it in full (but others I've looked at on the net don't have the name in full ) and its scribed with "hardy bro's alenwick" under the name (again other examples I've looked at doesn't ,they only seem too have the name inscribed .

the rod has a G serial number which seems right for the rod (being a mixed materials rod) but it said to start G74........ but I aint seen it yet to confirm it ,but the serial starting with 74 seems a little highly numbered for what should be fairly early rod

basically i'm wanting to know if theres any tell-tale signs to authenticate its a genuine hardy rod and what it reports too be as I don't want to lay out a small fortune on a rogue rod .from what I've seen of these rods the length is right at 11ft & I know the handwritten name was the hardy way rather than a transfer/label .for the period .the rod itself is one I was really wanting too get ,so i'm really hoping its correct .I really don't want to say which rod it is (don't want to jinx it) but I guess I really should .ok its inscribed as "F.W.K Wallis" "Avon" Hardy Bro's alenwick .but the pictures I've seen on the web only have " wallis avon " or just "Avon" and no makers name underneath .

your thoughts would be appreciated.
I try to be funny... but sometimes I merely look it! Steve

CWK
Perch