Making a float-making lathe.

Made some other form of traditional fishing tackle.
Watermole+
Chub

Making a float-making lathe.

Post by Watermole+ »

..After reading all the interesting posts concerning making your own floats-and after seeing that intriguing 'YouTube' video on making a simple lathe from a sewing machine motor, I thought that it may be of some interest if we tried to do something like it on here.

This is an entirely new project as I have no previous experience in either making anything like this before, or indeed, trying to make floats! I therefore will be very grateful for any input, ideas or suggestions that you may wish to contribute, so it will be a joint 'TFF' venture..

There are no plans or drawings as yet, only some sketchy ideas in mind; so this will be entirely ad hoc and subject to constant revision as we go along. It is not intended to be a precision engineering project-apart from a few small but important details-so it would be great if some of you could also have a go at this. There will be no set time for completion; I'm just going to do a little at a time, as and when possible..

It seems that the two base manufacturing problems in float-making are, (1) Drilling the hole through the float body; and (2) turning the body true to the stem.
The idea then, is to (try to) make a little, indoor, table-top lathe, which will be able to take care of that, with-if possible-profile repeatability..in other words, to be able to make more than one of the same size!