One for Crucian, a Heath Robinson Scarborough Reel.

A forum to show any of your restored or built traditional fishing reels.
Old Man River
Eel

One for Crucian, a Heath Robinson Scarborough Reel.

Post by Old Man River »

Well, here goes, I made a short post on Crucians thread re straightening a split cane boat rod, and that I was going to make a simple "Scarborough " boat reel to match it, as always, my main aim is to do things as cheaply as possible,using only bits and pieces in my workshop waiting to be reborn,and in addition things that are left over from other "jobs" This was not going to be a bespoke reel, I am neither up to that skill, nor have the tools. It is going to be a reel to be used out on a charter boat where it gets a bit bashed around and abused, so made to " Near enoughs" and not "Bang ons " as we used to say when I was an apprentice joiner.

That being the case I had a rootle around and found what I needed.

A piece of timber from the back of an old scrap wardrobe, another short end of pine planking from a shelving project, a short piece of angle iron from a cut up steel bed frame, a short bit of broom handle,a piece of flat brass plate from an old letter box, a bit of steel tubing, some used and reclaimed brass screws and brass screw cups, and some nuts and bolts from my odds and sodds box. Oh, and some paint tin ends of stain and varnish ,again left over from other jobs.

Tools... well,I have a few, what was used were.. a small hobby bench sander, a coping saw, an electric drill, , a compass, and a few spanners, some cramps, a screwdriver, a hacksaw, a file, a centrepunch,a hammer, a couple of taps and dies, some drills, sandpaper, wire wool and lots of elbow grease.