Oxford canal around Banbury

This forum belong to the Oxford Canal.
Snape
Bailiff

Oxford canal around Banbury

Post by Snape »

I have no experience of canal fishing but the more I look into it the more intriguing it is. They appear to be little fished and often no-one is certain what fish are present.
The Oxford canal is not that far from me at Banbury does anyone have any experience of fishing it around the Banbury area?
“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers,” Herbert Hoover.
`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸ ><((((º>

Mark
Head Bailiff

Re: Oxford canal around Banbury

Post by Mark »

I have fished the Oxford canal years ago Snape but can't remember actually where, mainly for perch and there were the odd pounder that use to slip over my net.
Mark (Administrator)

The most precious places in the English landscape are those secretive corners,
where you find only elder trees, nettles and dreams. (BB - Denys Watkins-Pitchford).

AshbyCut
Honorary President

Post by AshbyCut »

"Beside the water I discovered (or maybe rediscovered) the quiet. The sort of quiet that allows one to be woven into the tapestry of nature instead of merely standing next to it." Estaban.

Trevor
Eel

Post by Trevor »

Many a day spent on the OC in my youth (see the post I've just put up).
There's a good variety below its murky depths and I still have a cast occasionally, the colder months being better as the traffic is less frequent.
Some pleasant stretches north or south of Banbury, and the odd surprise catch always a possibility

Trevor
Eel

Post by Trevor »

AshbyCut wrote:Just out of interest, Sir ...

http://www.oxfordmail.co.uk/sport/43898 ... k/?ref=rss
I'm not at all surprised that river fish end up in the canal as the two run very close together for many miles and, as pointed out in the article, cross over at some points.