Trying something new - I'm going lure fishing.

This forum is for discussing Lure Fishing.
MaggotDrowner
Zander

Trying something new - I'm going lure fishing.

Post by MaggotDrowner »

Okay, so I'm not totally new to this game but it is something I do fairly infrequently. Perhaps on a cold, icy day when I just have to get out fishing. Lure fishing appeals then because you are very mobile and walking around keeps you warm. I've never done it this early in the year before though.

I've had a few pike and perch on lures, but more often than not they fall off. I think perhaps they don't like the hard plastic and so drop the lure or it puts them off. So I have bought some of the new rubber ones.

Any other tips for a novice lure angler?

I'm looking forward to learning when I return.
"I'd rather be fishing!"

MD

Bob Brookes
Zander

Re: Trying something new - I'm going lure fishing.

Post by Bob Brookes »

MD,
Strike hard to set the hook. I think not doing that is the main reason I used to lose fish when I first started lure fishing.
Bob
"You do not cease to fish because you get old, you get old because you cease to fish"

Olly
Wild Carp

Post by Olly »

I have used the "rubber" shads to good effect as have others on here! A jig head and a shad + wire trace is all that's required apart from the usual unhooking kit & landing net.

Watch a few YouTube videos on it to see how they work and the many variations!

Santiago
Wild Carp

Post by Santiago »

I would buy a selection of jig heads for the soft plastics. For me what works is the colder the weather the slower the retrieve. Best colours are motor oil and orange. Ones with curly tails are very good. If bites are slow retrieve slower and trim the lures head off; reducing the lures size can really work surprisingly well and just the curly tail with a little bit of the body can be the difference between no bites and lots. But the smaller I go the slower I retrieve.