NEW ASPINDALE EXPERIENCE

The James Aspindale and Sons Rods forum.
John Harding
Rudd

NEW ASPINDALE EXPERIENCE

Post by John Harding »

Hello all,

I am a fan of Aspindale rods and I have several different models, not long ago I was lucky enough to obtain two Aspindale match rods. One was a split cane rod and the other was a new experience for me, it was a tubular aluminium alloy match rod called The Croftdale. The rod is a 13ft model with the butt and middle sections being aluminium alloy and the top section having an 11 inch (including the ferule) bottom part with a 36 inch glass fibre section for the rest of the top section, the middle section has three steps down in diameter. I have never used a tubular aluminium rod before and I was curious to see how it performed, not wanting to risk using it where I might come accross some larger specimens such as tench or carp I decided to have a session of the canal this morning.