Aspinindale-Suredale

The James Aspindale and Sons Rods forum.
Penninelad
Arctic Char

Aspinindale-Suredale

Post by Penninelad »

Just arrived this morning,bought via Ebay for £43 plus P & P an Suredale with twin tops.It looks to be in original condition,but I am no expert and would welcome any information via TFF.The whippings appear to be in copper wire thoughout apart from the intermediates.In good order throughout and does it not need re-furbishing(or has it been refurbished already?).When assembled the both top sections appear to have been been made for the same butt and middle sections.The butt section is whole cane all the other sections are split cane.All sections are sraight.

I have read hat the actions of the Suredale was similar to an Avocet but as I have never used an Avocet so I am not in a position to know.
Mark Davies

Penninelad
Arctic Char

Re: Aspinindale-Suredale

Post by Penninelad »

Photograph of all the sections

Mark Davies

Marc
Sea Trout

Post by Marc »

Handsome rods the Aspindales. Might have to dabble one day. No... No I mustn't... Especially if I ever want my kids to go to Uni.
Marc. (Prince of Durham)

“A life that partakes even a little of friendship, love, irony, humor, parenthood, literature, and music, and the chance to take part in battles for the liberation of others cannot be called 'meaningless'...”

PershoreHarrier
Rainbow Trout

Post by PershoreHarrier »

Have a look just above the male ferrule and just below the female ferrule - there should be a number written in indian ink usually - the number should be the same on each section showing that it was matched when constructed. The numbers are quite small but it helps to show originality - my Avondale for example has the number 9 on each section.

Penninelad
Arctic Char

Post by Penninelad »

Thanks.I can only see a number on one of the top sections.
Mark Davies

Woodytia
Crucian Carp

Post by Woodytia »