Flick 'em, pre war or post war?

The J. W. Young and Allcocks Reels forum.
Crucian
Eel

Flick 'em, pre war or post war?

Post by Crucian »

Could anyone help with a manufacturing date for this reel please?
I purchased it this week and I am very pleased with it. After a clean out and a light oil it now spins superbly, much better than the later post war Rapidex, Trudex etc. Having a lever check is nice too. It looks to have been polished at some point, should it be painted black all over? Maybe it has been painted?
ImageImageImage

Harry H
Rainbow Trout

Re: Flick 'em, pre war or post war?

Post by Harry H »

I'm no expert but that looks like a pre-war Young's pattern number 2A, I think they were as yours is polished spool and black back, nice reels :Thumb:
There are three things that improve with age: wine, friendship and water sense, and there's no short cut.
Anthony Shepherdson

Nobby
Wild Carp

Post by Nobby »

I believe that is an unbadged Perfection Flick 'Em with the optional lever check. They were apparently made from about 1932 to 1939 for the four and one eight version, but only up to 1937 for the three and three quarter inch version.

The spool was polished aluminium, but the back was leaded in some chemical way that would be illegal now, they say! But yours does appear to have been painted at some time as its so very black and shiny.

Crucian
Eel

Post by Crucian »

Thanks chaps,
It is the 3 3/4" version, so that dates it nicely.
I am surprised at just how good this reel is, the fits and tolerances are very good indeed, easily as good as the Aerials and early Hardy 'pins that cost many times more to buy. I look forward to using it.

Olly
Wild Carp

Post by Olly »

I too have one - a treasure to use! On the reverse mine states :- "PERFECTION FLICK-EM". I do like the ratchet lever in the rim.

Keston
Tench

Post by Keston »

A lovely reel Crucian. I like the combination of the black, polished and brass parts .