Speedia maintenance?

The Speedia Reels forum.
Davebhoy

Speedia maintenance?

Post by Davebhoy »

Hi

I picked up a speedia from eBay that was described as having a bit of wobble but nothing that stopped it spinning. I don't think it spins for more than 30 seconds, but of more concern, as I'm using it for stick fishing for barbel on a small shallow river is that it seems to take a fair amount to start turning. I could be completely wrong as I'm new to trotting with centrepins.

What maintenance could I give the reel to try and improve its performance?

Nobby
Wild Carp

Re: Speedia maintenance?

Post by Nobby »

The first thing is to set the end play correctly. It's tricky on a Speedia as it has an unusual sized screw in the spool centreboss which can be damaged very easily as it is only made of brass. Turn the screw until it just touches the end of the centrepin...hard to feel if the screw is tight!....and then back it off again about an eight of a turn.

Setting it up with less end-float than that, as everybody always seems to do, will cause the slide that hold the spool in position to rub against the side of its slot on the centrepin.

Other than that it's a matter of cleaning everything fastidiously....even a single strand from a cotton-bud will make a noise and cause friction...and lubricating with a thin quality oil, like Garry Mill's Pin Oil.

As to how easy it should turn....well, when held flat in the palm of your hand the spool should try to align itself with magnetic north due to the few steel components in it. It doesn't usually do that without a bit of work, including polishing the tip of the centrepin and the bottom of the grub screw to a mirror finish.