Allcocks Easicast

The Allcocks Rods forum.
MaggotDrowner
Zander

Allcocks Easicast

Post by MaggotDrowner »

As I'm sure most of you know by now I am new to the world of vintage tackle. Can anyone tell me anything about the Allcocks Easicast? What should to pay for one in good condition? Are they a good rod for pike and carp?

Hope you aren't all getting sick of my questions. :hide:

Cheers.
"I'd rather be fishing!"

MD

The VFC
Brown Trout

Re: Allcocks Easicast

Post by The VFC »

Never sick of questions MD! The Easicast is listed as "for salt water spinning" (and so has the over large butt ring) but, being rated for lines of 15-25lbs and 2oz leads should handle pike easily enough! It probably a bit stiff and short (9ft or so) for general carp fishing however. The best large pike rod, for ledgering and so forth, to my mind is the Chapman Dennis Pye - particularly if regular 15lb+ pike are caught.

Jim

MaggotDrowner
Zander

Post by MaggotDrowner »

I like that it is short as I do quite a of my pike fishing with lures. I bet it will be very stiff if it's a sea rod! Can you think of any other short pike rods?
"I'd rather be fishing!"

MD

Gord
Crucian Carp

Post by Gord »

may be a hardy wanless or a salmon spinning rod if your lure fishing
when you are going through hell just keep on going (winston churchill)

Tigernuts
Ruffe

Post by Tigernuts »